100 Foods to Eat Before You Die

This is one of those silly Facebook memes, but I thought I’d post it since I did very well (or I’m about to die, that would be the other way of looking at it). It helped that this particular version of the list is stacked towards sushi & Indian food.

And yes I used wikipedia to look up some of these, because I’ve tried a lot of things under different names or not knowing the traditional name, and I fully sanction your doing the same. Wikipedia has ruined the art of the casual debate, but for food memes, it’s hella handy.

 

100 Foods to Eat Before You Die

1. Venison – yes (I am pretty sure I had some my uncle shot, but if not, definitely in a restaurant)

2. Nettle tea – yes

3. Huevos rancheros- I’ve lived in CA and TX, so duh

4. Steak tartare – yes

5. Crocodile – I’m counting alligator as a yes, practically the same thing

6. Black pudding – I think I tasted this in scotland

7. Cheese fondue – yes

8. Carp – not sure, but I wouldn’t say no to it

9. Borscht – yes, I’ve made it too, not a big fan

10. Baba ghanoush – yes but I prefer other middle eastern condiments

11. Calamari – yes, in all kinds of ways, and it’s Maggie’s favorite seafood

12. Pho – yes.

13. PB&J sandwich – ok if I said no you’d have to revoke my American kid card

14. Aloo gobi – yes (mom this is indian, a cauliflower dish)

15. Hot dog from a street cart – yes, in NYC and possibly also Chicago

16. Epoisses –apparently this is a cheese, I’ve tried a LOT of cheeses but don’t know if this one

17. Black truffle – divine

18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes – many other fruits, it’s an Midwest thing apparently

19. Steamed pork buns – of course and I SO miss the bbq pork variety, haven’t found in Houston yet

20. Pistachio ice cream – made it & ate it still don’t love it

21. Heirloom tomatoes – frequently

22. Fresh wild berries – picked ’em myself

23. Foie gras – yes love it despite the guilt

24. Rice and beans – I don’t think you can be a member of any culture in this world without having this on the menu

25. Brawn, or head cheese – sadly, no

26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper – can’t do it

27. Dulce de leche – yes, don’t like it, too soggy

28. Oysters – yes! favorite is fried & stuffed, new orleans style

29. Baklava – yes, it’s growing on me

30. Bagna cauda – yes, planning to make at home soon – Mom if you ever went to stinking rose you probably had it, it’s their most popular app

31. Wasabi peas – yep

32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl – many many times

33. Salted lassi – oooh, I’ve had mango and rose but never tried salted! (this is an indian yogurt drink)

34. Sauerkraut – yes, and I finally like it

35. Root beer float – yes but please with real root beer, preferably from a tap, with wintergreen in it

36. Cognac with a fat cigar – cognac yes, cigar yes, so I’m counting this

37. Clotted cream tea – yes

38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O shot – nah, my college was dry, and after college, what’s the point? I might have had vodka watermelon tho

39. Gumbo – yes, there’s some in my freezer right now

40. Oxtail – yep, thanks to my African church

41. Curried goat – yes, first at my cousin’s wedding, and at several great pak restaurants

42. Whole insects – ew, actually, I have *not* gone there. except by accident.

43. Phaal – a super hot indian dish I have not been privileged to try (mom, your knowledge of indian cuisine is sorely lacking!)

44. Goat’s milk – yup, this was my go-to milk when K was lactose intolerant

45. Single malt whisky – from the distillery itself! and others

46. Fugu – I would try this if I really trusted the chef (it’s the pufferfish that can kill you if not prepared correctly)

47. Chicken tikka masala – so many times

48. Eel – yes, yes, yes!

49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut – hot off the line

50. Sea urchin – yes (clearly this list is stacked with sushi)

51. Prickly pear – yes

52. Umeboshi – japanese plum, YUM!

53. Abalone – yep, raw

54. Paneer – of course! (indian cheese)

55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal – so ashamed to say yes (I was ignorant once)

56. Spaetzle – yes, in Amana colonies, Iowa

57. Dirty gin martini – yep, cemented my dislike of gin

58. Beer above 8% ABV – often

59. Poutine – I just saw Mo Rocca eating this with Eric McCormack on Sunday Morning, it’s Canadian fries & gravy. I say the Magic Mountain from Ross’s Restaurant in Bettendorf, IA is close enough.

60. Carob chips – how could I not? all my friends are vegan

61. S’mores – of course

62. Sweetbreads – yes! so wonderful in the right hands

63. Kaolin – this is a clay substance, from what I can find not widely eaten straight, but used as a pesticide in organic farming, so I’ll bet I’ve had it

64. Currywurst – pretty sure I have

65. Durian – no

66. Frogs’ legs – most memorably as fajitas in a Chicago restaurant

67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake – yes, yes, yes, and yes

68. Haggis – yep, fried up for breakfast, loved it

69. Fried plantain – yes

70. Chitterlings, or andouillette – yes and yes

71. Gazpacho – yep, wish I could make it more often, but John says, “it’s just salsa, why are we eating it like soup?”

72. Caviar and blini – I’m sure I had this at some fancy party sometime. definitely caviar many times.

73. Louche absinthe – I have had traditional absinthe, so I guess so

74. Gjetost – no (mom it’s a goat cheese, you wouldn’t like, tho it’s a whey cheese, so probably doesn’t taste like “goat cheese”)

75. Roadkill – not that I know of but I do live in the south

76. Baijiu – no but now I want to try it!

77. Hostess Fruit Pie – yes but the homemade fried pies in Texas are so far superior it’s not funny

78. Snail – yes

79. Lapsang souchong – yes (this is a tea and I did NOT have to look it up)

80. Bellini – yes! Mom are you sure? This is a mimosa with peach instead of orange juice. it’s wonderful. Get one next time you’re at brunch!

81. Tom yum – one of my faves

82. Eggs Benedict – yes, but after reading Anthony Bourdain, not too often

83. Pocky – yep

84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant – I think so. If Guy Savoy had 3 when I was there. Also ate at Joel Rubouchon. Surely one of those.

85. Kobe beef – makes a great burger

86. Hare – yes

87. Goulash – yes

88. Flowers – yes, recently been making hibiscus tea regularly, and ate a hibiscus at the farmer’s market

89. Horse – not on purpose but when we were in Paris, might have

90. Criollo – this sounds GOOD! Hope I can find it. It’s a rare chocolate.

91. Spam – unfortunately, yes

92. Soft shell crab – yes, at Paul Proudhomme’s restaurant in NOLA

93. Rose harissa – I am pretty sure yes

94. Catfish – yes

95. Mole poblano – yes

96. Bagel and lox – my favorite thing from Jerry’s Famous Deli in Studio City (always snitched it from the TBAA writers)

97. Lobster Thermidor – pretty sure they had this on one of the Vegas buffets

98. Polenta – yes

99. Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee – yes, I think so, but I think there are many imposters of this

100. Snake – again, I think I ate on a Vegas buffet

 

So I scored 86 out of 100. How’d you do?

Feedback

