Dinner Win! Mexican Taco Stew from Whole Foods

Here was a big dinner WIN for us the other night! We used ground pork from the ranch (making this veg would be easy, too) and TJ’s organic diced tomatoes w/green chiles.

Since our broth wound up being too spicy for the kids (darn you, TJ’s medium salsa!) we scooped out the solids (that just sounds gross, but I know no other way to describe) and, in a flash of genius, threw it into boxed mac n cheese! The kids LOVED their “taco-roni and cheese” – sure to be a new favorite. They each ate their ENTIRE bowl, even after they’d eaten the bites required to get dessert.

My husband doesn’t like brothy soups either /eyeroll/, so we poured off most of the broth and plan to use it to make delicious Spanish rice to have with tacos tonight. More genius! Somebody get me a MacArthur grant!!

Anyway he & I ate our (innards? solids? meats & vegs?) topped with sharp cheddar and sour cream. One of the easiest and most delish dinners we’ve had in a good long time.

BTW we also made a full pound of meat, adding the onions, garlic & spices (we made up our own taco seasoning – packets are silly when you usually have everything on hand except the weird stuff), then reserved half of that combo for taco night tonight. To go with our Spanish rice. Wow. I can’t wait for dinner time!

Image

image from Whole Foods Market

If you want to find the ridiculous amount of joy I apparently have from this simple recipe, go here: Mexican Taco Stew from Whole Foods

2 thoughts on “Dinner Win! Mexican Taco Stew from Whole Foods

  1. Yeh, I like TJs but the taco stuff I’ve tried was too spicy for me too. What great ideas you had for making everything work. makes a mom proud. Yeah,it’s me, I can’t get Dad outta here.

Feedback

